500 Days To Go – The Krotons

Golden Anniversary Countdown: 500 days to go

I am marking the 500 days to go milestone with a viewing of this week’s classic DVD release, The Krotons (28th Dec ’68 to 18th Jan ’69). I kicked off yesterday evening with a look at the “Second Time Around”, a rather splendid documentary about Patrick Troughton’s tenure as the Doctor, in which I was pleasantly surprised to find some footage of the recently discovered missing episodes. I have some very vague recollections of the story thanks to its repeat showing in the early 80’s (“The Five Faces of Doctor Who” season if memory serves). However, I can confidently say that I haven’t watched it since, so I’m about to give episode 1 a test. In the aforementioned documentary, it was said that The Krotons was hardly one of highlights of the show, which is the latest in a string of none too complimentary asides that I’ve stumbled across, but Pat Troughton is invariably enjoyable to watch so I look forward to seeing what’s in store. More views and your comments welcome in the usual place below.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

