Come In Number Five

Away from the hullaballoo that surrounds the build-up to Easter Saturday’s debut of The Impossible Astronaut, I thought I would go a little old school and say a few words about Revisitations 2: the recently released boxset featuring special editions of Resurrection of the Daleks, Carnival of Monsters and Seeds of Death. These re-releases tend to cause a little furore when they arrive because many fans feel somewhat put-upon to have to fork out money on the same story more than once. They have a point, to a small degree. To cough up the RRP for a DVD only to find a better, more comprehensive version turn up a few years later could feel like a waste of money, and, with the dreaded compulsion that collectors feel to have *everything*, this must feel like a constant drain on resources. However, my copy of Revisitations 2 only turned up yesterday and I have just dipped my toe in to the contents by watching Ed Stradling’s “Come In Number Five” documentary hosted by David Tennant. It has already been worth the expense thanks to this 60 minutes of a wonderfully insightful retrospective of the Peter Davison era. He, as David Tennant says, was my Doctor and so this feature could have been made specially for me. Lovely stuff. Personally, I have tried to limit the expense by buying this at a nicely discounted rate, using a cashback credit card, and selling the older versions of these DVDs via eBay… thus, Revisitations 2 feels like nothing more than an upgrade. Long may they continue, I say.

    • Adam Stone
    • April 9th, 2011

    If I see it cheap then I met get one of the box sets and then try and sell the original disc on ebay like you do, but I am not in any great rush to do so at the moment, but it is worth considering.

    • Adam Stone
    • April 8th, 2011

    I only have two of those on DVD already but I just couldn't bring myself to buy them again.

      • Fazzinchi
      • April 8th, 2011

      It\’s tricky isn\’t it?! Most of these boxsets seem to be available pretty cheaply a year or so after being published. If you don\’t feel a compelling need to buy straight away it\’s probably as well to wait until you see it at a bargain price.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

