Torchwood: Day One – First Thoughts

P1000501

P1000502

Torchwood: Day One – What’s Occuring?

Well, that was a rather special episode of Torchwood, in fact I’d go as far as to say faultless. I got the feeling that I knew most of what was going to happen from the trailers and press releases (kids stopping, the “We. Are. Coming” chant, the mysterious alien threat, government reaction and Torchwood being hunted down) but, despite the prior knowledge, it didn’t prevent the last 10 minutes from making my heart race. Dr Rupesh’s shooting of Jack was a jaw-dropper given I thought he was genuinely being introduced as an Owen replacement and the bomb in Jack’s stomach was something I didn’t see coming at all. The five-hour story format rather than self contained 45-minute chunks seem to have given a little more room for characters to breathe and, accordingly, added a lot of new depth and insight into their backgrounds and families.  Ianto coming out to his sister was a classic RTD-scribed scene full of humour and realism, while Jack’s visit to his daughter and grandson threw up more complexities into the problems of his eternal life. The supporting cast were great (I couldn’t pick out a single bum choice) and quite numerous too with a plethora of new faces to get to know over the course of the week… and beyond, one would hope. The direction and production were spot on as well. So what did you all think?

    • fazzinchi
    • July 7th, 2009

    Thanks for the comments Fen and Kara. Just seen Day Two and the high standards seem to be maintained, don’t they?! 🙂

  1. I thought it was bloody brilliant! I loved how it started–almost bubbly–the events of “Journey’s End” in the past. I loved the little touches: Gwen affectionately stroking the picture of Owen and Tosh taped to her computer; discovering that Jack is a dad AND a grandfather (stands to reason, I guess;) hearing that Martha Jones was on her honeymoon; the slow drip of information that simply would not be accommodated in a one off–or even two-part–episode. And like you–totally didn’t see the bomb coming; I thought they’d put a tracking device in him. And when is Jack going to realize that he knows something about what’s happening (after all, he is targeted for assassination, so clearly he must have been involved with the “4-5-6” incident.) Can’t wait for tonight’s episode.

  2. I really like it and I am so hanging out for Day Two etc. I loved that we got to see more of the ‘personal side’ of the characters.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

