In With The New

2008 b

It Looks Like We Might Have Made It

Another year gone and, while it may not be going strong, this old blog is, at least, still going and here is the first post of the year. It is a time for looking back, looking forward and making resolutions and so, I’ll start by looking back. 2007 began with some commitments that held me in good stead for a few months before succumbing to inevitable fatigue. The “Diary of an Addict” was a good record of viewing habits for the first nine months of the year with Doctor Who, Lost, Battlestar Galactica and Life on Mars being the only (unsurprisinly) noteworthy programmes that found themselves winning my “Show of the Week” title at least twice. The number of posts have taken a bit of a battering throughout the year as the early surge faded away as promises of “at least 20 posts a month” were revealed as pitiful falsehoods (see October for proof)…

  • Jan = 42
  • Feb = 26
  • Mar = 28
  • Apr = 19
  • May = 21
  • Jun = 15
  • Jul = 7
  • Aug = 7
  • Sep = 10
  • Oct = 0
  • Nov = 9
  • Dec = 5

hmmmm… Resolutions for 2008:

  1. Must do better!

That is all.

The last couple of weeks has seen the seasonal television schedules packed to the rafters with the broadcasters efforts to keep us entertained through the haze of excess-induced fatigue. In a momentary lapse I will allow myself a little self-pity because I had a Christmas season of very little excess and a bit too much Lemsip as I struggled through with the flu that almost every family I have spoken with since has had to overcome. Not just the much-derided “man-flu” flavour of head cold but the full on, can’t-get-out-of-bed-for-love-nor-money-just-leave-me-alone kind of flu accompanied by a personal best temperature of 105 (I always revert to imperial when seeking sympathy) and a really disorientating delirium. So much so that I haven’t had any alcahol since a glass of wine with Christmas dinner and I enjoyed my first sober New Year since being a teenager. Despite (or may be because of) the general feeling of lousiness, I did manage to watch a fair bit of television and so, over the course of the next few days I will embark upon my second and therefore now tranditional, 12 Reviews of Christmas.

So, in the pipeline I have Doctor Who, Oliver Twist, Battlestar Galactica: Razor, Extras, Robin Hood, Cranford, The Catherine Tate Christmas Show, The Class, The Shadow In The North, The Big Fat Quiz Of The Year, Jools’ Hootenanny, and J.K. Rowling: A Year In The Life. Feel free to Bookmark me, or Subscribe to the RSS feed and remember to feedback if anything is broken or doesn’t work as well as it should.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

