That Was The Weekend That Was

Importance

The Importance of Missing Football

One of the less satisfying aspects of this blog in its previous incarnation was my attempt to record a diary of every programme I was watching on the telly.  Not every flick of the thumb during regular channel hopping sessions as I would work my way through the multitudinous offering of the Sky World package, of course.  Instead, the main programmes that I had tuned into were devotedly recorded (well, I wasn’t even that devoted to be honest) and early diarising even attempted to give the shows marks-out-of-ten.  It was a suitably flawed idea that warranted being canned relatively quickly.  So, here in this brave new world, I’m going to try something different.

I shall endevour to record what has entertained me on certain “occasional days” but only on those days when being entertained has been high on my personal agenda and when the other little aspects of life haven’t managed to interrupt or disrupt proceedings.  This will allow me to be much less structured as I don’t have to keep up-to-date and I don’t have to limit myself to televisual entertainment.  At the weekend, as a case in point, the Other Viewer and I had booked tickets to the theatre to go and see “The Importance of Being Earnest”.  At the time we booked them, I had no idea that such an important England football match would be on at the same time, the fact that England weren’t involved in this match was neither here nor there if you were to believe the press though.

So, here was the entertainment from the weekend just gone…

  • Journeyman (Episode One).  A cross between Quantum Leap and Goodnight Sweetheart that has the potential to be quite good.  You can tell it’s science fiction because the speed and accuracy that the star of the show enters text into his iPhone is clearly fantastical.
  • Heroes Unmasked.  We’re not actually watching Heroes again on BBC2 after seeing all of series one recently on Sci-Fi.  However, we’re watching the Anthony Head-narrated companion documentary and, although it’s pretty same-y from week-to-week, it remains interesting.
  • Lead Balloon is back for season two but the opener failed to sparkle up to the standards that season one reached.  Jack Dee was his usual brilliant self but something was a little wrong, I think may be it was because the finale was just a little spiteful.
  • Scotland v Italy.  Despite missing the thrill of Israel v Russia, I did manage to catch Scotland’s vallient efforts, they really didn’t deserve to the lose the match  but the tables don’t lie and it was never realistic that they could finish above either France or Italy.  Hopefully, it signals a return to better times for the resurgent Scots.
  • The Importance of Being Earnest.  A simple production at the Chichester Festival Theatre starring Penelope Keith as the perfectly cast Lady Bracknell where the marvellously witty script was left to take centre stage.  The whole cast were interestingly understated in their approach, which was a refreshing change from the typically o.t.t. display that usually accompanies the play.
  • Here in the UK we are up to episode 17 of Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip‘s one and only season on More4.  It continues to entertain here at Fazzinchi Towers and I still can’t see why another series wasn’t warranted, I guess we just have to wait to see what Aaron Sorkin does next.
  • The Class is a new US sitcom… “from the people who brought us Friends”.  It ticks a few of the same boxes because the characters seem to be more important than the situations but it could do with a bit more comedy in the situations.
  • Doctor Who: The Celestial Toymaker – part 4.  I dug out an old black and white episode from the Lost In Time boxset and it served as an object lesson for anyone who complains at the plots in the new series.  Good fun though.
  • NFL Live.  Dallas Cowboys 28 vs 23 Washington Redskins.  I have rekindled my interest in the NFL since going to the Wembley match-up a few weeks ago and it’s good to see my team on form.  Four touchdowns  for T.O. was the highlight (sorry, Martin)

So that was my weekend, how was yours?

  1. December 1st, 2007

Leave a Reply

